Home » Discover » Arboretum History » Daweswood House Museum

The Daweswood House Museum was originally the home of the John Brumback family. John, a pioneer blacksmith and farmer, designed and financed the construction of the brick farmhouse in 1867.

Around 1917, the Dawes family moved onto the Brumback farm, known as Woodland, including the 50-year-old brick farmhouse that became their country home. In the late 1920s, modernization and structural changes were made to fit the family’s needs.

Today, ten rooms of the Daweswood House Museum display 19th and 20th century antiques and memorabilia that reflect the lifestyle and collecting interests of the Dawes family.


Guided tours are available seasonally. Please click here for more information.

Photography not permitted inside Daweswood House Museum.

If you would like to pre-arrange a tour for a group, please contact our History Department at 740.323.2355. Please call ahead to confirm tour days, as the house is periodically closed for special events.

Contact Info

Toll-Free: 800.44.DAWES
Phone: 740.323.2355
Email: information@dawesarb.org
Mailing address:
7770 Jacksontown Rd., SE
Newark, OH 43056